Whispers


Ultimate Brownie
May 24, 2010, 12:52 pm
Filed under: Nasreen In the Kitchen | Tags: ,

I had a craving for brownies and selected this recipe online to try out of dozens I reviewed. I was not let down. This is the best brownie I’ve ever had. My family and I warmed them up a little bit, added some vanilla ice cream and just ‘ummmm’ed’. The only change I made to the recipe was to use Van Houten’s Semi Sweet chocolates and 2.25 cups of sugar instead of 3 cups as the chocolate bar was already sweetened. I also did not use any nuts, but folded in a handful of semi-sweet chocolate chips. My little sisters don’t like nuts in their cakes.

I think this is the best brownie ever made at home. It’s crunchy on the outside and fudgy within. When I stuck a toothpick in it to try if it was well-cooked and it came out all moist I was disappointed, if I would leave it in any longer the brownie would burn, so I accepted my defeat and figured I had done something wrong. After I let it cool down for a while I decided to try anyway and the inside was no longer moist but nice and fudgy! Perfect with a scoop of ice cream. ๐Ÿ™‚

I snapped each steps for my personal archival and found my blog to be the best place to archive it. And so, here’s my take on the Ultimate Brownie step-by-step. ๐Ÿ™‚

Step 1: Preheat oven to 200 degrees. Grease a 9 x 13 pan with butter.

Step 2: Melt 1 bar Van Houten Semi-Sweet Plain Chocolate (200g) and 1 cup unsalted butter in a saucepan over low heat.

Step 4: In a mixer bowl, add 5 medium sized eggs,ย  2.25 cups of sugar and a teaspoon of vanilla essence.

Step 5: Beat the ingredients at high speed for 10 minutes. When I say beat for 10 minutes – do this! This step gives the brownie the shiny & crispy top layer.

Step 6: Sift 1.5 cups of flour & 2 pinches of salt.

Step 7: Blend in chocolate mixture a little at a time.

Step 8: Blend in sifted flour & salt a little at a time also.

Step 9: Taste a spoonful of the deliciousness. :p

Step 10: Hershey’s Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips for the extra chocolaty flavour.

Step 11: Fold in about a handful of chocolate chips.

Step 12: Pour the mixture into the greased pan & bake for about 30-40 minutes at 180 degrees.

Step 13: Enjoy licking the bowl till the brownie gets baked.

Step 14: Cool the brownie before cutting and serve warm with a scoop ofย  vanilla ice-cream if you like your brownie with ice creams. ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy baking. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

