Whispers


See No Evil
April 12, 2010, 12:00 pm
Filed under: The Known world

Ghost Whisperer

I’m the one who rarely sits in front of a TV. There are yet a few programs I follow up with when I am free. Ghost Whisperer is one of them. After watching the previous episode (See No Evil – Season 5, Episode 2), I told myself, “I have to blog about this”. For an obvious reason that it was creepy & outdated.

There were some great things about this episode, and there were some not-so-great things too. I’m going to start with the good.

Creepy! The idea of stitching your eyes and mouth shut–let alone having aged Puritans do it with no anesthesia–is just creepy. The idea that we were seeing through Melinda’s (Jennifer Love Hewitt) eyes that were sewn shut, just gives me the heebie jeebies.

And it’s not over. While the introduction of a third party who started a chain letter was a little bit of a cheap trick at first, we’ve discovered that there really is a Sally Stitch, and she’s haunting a poor girl with cancer. Well, a poor girl who has one creepy doll and one sinister look, she’s not one I would want to interrogate about ghosts.

Needless to say, I’m looking forward to seeing this develop in the next week or so. The episodes of Ghost Whisperer where creepiness is the strength, tend to be my favorite. Plus, I wonder if we’ll get to see the young Aiden (Melinda’s son) interact with Julia. We didn’t really get to see him do much in this episode; instead, we got idle chatter about whether Aiden’s dreams are the ones that Melinda’s been seeing.

My only complaint about the episode, though, was that it seemed outdated. I mean, email chain letters? That’s so 1990s. I feel like the time to feel threatened by an email chain letter came and went ten years ago. Now we’re so immune to seeing them that, the delete or spam button is second nature.

For this generation, we would see ourselves discussing about mystery podcasts or viral videos. That’s what people of this era would really take note of.

So it pretty much bugged me that this was the main focal point of the episode. I could see it belonging to the first season, but now? Especially when this was five years later from the season finale? If anything, the five-year gap allows for the little bit of technological inconsistencies, like the fact that the email chain letter can update the list of terrible events while sitting in your inbox. I don’t know if you’ve noticed this yet, but emails don’t tend to refresh information. Websites yes, emails no.

I don’t know, but it just seemed like a rookie episode. I just couldn’t get past the email chain letter all episode. This explains my reason to blog regarding the episode.

Anyway, good setup for next week. And I’m looking forward to discovering the mystery of Sally Stitch. Why is she stitched up? Has she done something wrong? Who is her target? Who does she want to hurt? And who hurt her?

What do you think?

Photo Courtesy of TV Fanatic
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

